PGP Encryption/GPG Support/Keybase

A number of users want PGP/GPG/Keybase support to Mailspring.

There used to be a Keybase plugin for Nylas mail, but it’s difficult (or impossible) to find now.

This is a priority, but we really need someone familiar with this to help us implement it.

Hi,

So I assume the difficult part is to implement the encryption/decryption and signing/verification.
I’m not an expert but I’d assume once the mail is parsed these operations are applied to the corresponding parts.
For all the crypto operations we should use an external library like OpenPGPjs. So we just need to make sure that the email is parsed correctly, s.t. the right string goes into the right openPGP function.

Here an example for a signed email:

1. S/MIME
     Content-Type: multipart/signed; protocol="application/pkcs7-signature"; micalg=sha-256; 
         boundary="----=_Part_99187222_6352000067.2891734681264"

------=_Part_99187222_6352000067.2891734681264
     Content-Type: multipart/alternative; 
         boundary="----=_Part_12371878_129837423.1610754987387"

------=_Part_12371878_129837423.1610754987387
     Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8
     Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
     Content-Disposition: inline

EMAIL IN PLAIN TEXT

------=_Part_12371878_129837423.1610754987387
     Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8
     Content-Disposition: inline

EMAIL IN HTML

------=_Part_12371878_129837423.1610754987387--

------=_Part_99187222_6352000067.2891734681264
     Content-Type: application/pkcs7-signature; name=smime.p7s; smime-type=signed-data
     Content-Transfer-Encoding: base64
     Content-Disposition: attachment; filename="smime.p7s"
     Content-Description: S/MIME Cryptographic Signature

SMIME CERTIFICATE

------=_Part_99187222_6352000067.2891734681264--

2. PGP (and autocrypt):
    Autocrypt: addr=...@...; prefer-encrypt=mutual;
    keydata=...
    Content-Type: multipart/signed; micalg=pgp-sha1;