Syncing Sent Mail

Problem

I have a paid subscription with you and use couple of IMAP accounts to send and receive messages. The sent messages are not synced with my mail server (xxxxxxx.com) - they only seem to exist within Mailspring/its database, which is an issue when I try to use a mobile app like gmail (I noticed you don’t offer a mobile app). How can I sync all of the sent messages with my domain’s mail server so I can access them outside Mailspring?

Context

Email Provider

custom domain email hosted in https://asmallorange.com/

Setup

• OS and Version: Windows 10 Build 19042
  • Mailspring Version: 1.8

Hi @MarkoGN, welcome to the community.

Sent mail should be syncing by default with all accounts, unless the wrong sent folder has been selected.

1. Ensure you have some sort of Sent folder on your email server (I assume you probably do.) Take note of the exact name. It typically will be called Sent, Outbox, Sent Mail. If no such folder exists yet, create it now.

2. In Mailspring, go to Preferences > Folders, look for the entry for the account you’re having trouble with.

3. Ensure the Sent Mail option is set to the appropriate folder from step 1.

4. Send a test email, to ensure things are working correctly. All sent messages should appear on the server-side in the folder you selected in step 3.

Many thanks for your quick reply. Interesting seems to be on the server when directly accessed via cpanel (Horde Mail) but it does not seem to sync with other providers like GMail. Would you happen to know why that is?

That is rather odd. Are the Folder settings in Mailspring, the sent folder on the server, and the sent folder name preferred by Gmail (or the other clients) in agreement? They might not be. Most clients are configurable about this, though.

Any way you can share screenshots of your folder names according to Horde Mail and your Mailspring Folders preferences? From there, we might be able to figure out what’s up.