Mailspring Generates an Error Message Sending Mail With VPN is Invoked

I am a Mailspring Pro customer. I have 4 accounts setup in Mailspring and it’s working fine with all 4 accounts sending and receiving mail so far except when running a VPN. I use Wireguard VPN.

The version of Mailspring I’m running is version 1.9.1-30ef802f. Mailspring is installed on Feren OS Linux July 2021 build with kernel ver. 5.4.0-81-generic.

I am not running any HTTP proxy server in the browser and not running SOCKS5 proxy with Wireguard. When I invoke my Wireguard VPN, I’m able to receive messages just fine, but cannot send messages out. I get an error message which reads: “Error - Sorry. Mailspring was unable to deliver this message. Connection Error - Unable to connect to the server/port you provided.” I have to click Okay to close this window. This error is 100% reproducible. When I turn off the VPN, the message will then be sent out. I don’t understand why this is happening as I’ve never had an issue with other mail clients like Thunderbird Mail delivering mail with a VPN turned on.

Please let me know what can be done to resolve this issue. I want to continue using the Pro version of Mailspring, but can’t live with the VPN problem I discovered.

Thank you.

Dan Calloway

This is not support. It’s been 6 days since I posted this request for assistance with my issue and no one–AND I MEAN, NO ONE–has offered to even acknowledge that they are working to find a resolution to my problem. As I mentioned, I’m a paying customer of Mailspring and would think that I would get better attention than this.

If someone doesn’t assist to at least attempt to resolve my technical issue with Mailspring soon, I may have to reevaluate its continued use as a paying customer. Did I post this in the wrong place? Can someone at least tell me that and offer to direct me in the right area? Thank you.

Dan Calloway